#### **Canberra Chess Club**

## Annual General Meeting Hellenic Club, Canberra City 15 October 2020

Meeting declared open at 6:50 pm

#### **Attendance**

Victor Braguine Henk Doel Roy Teymant David Turnbull Cam Cunningham Jozo Rosic Simon Louie Alana Chibnall Marco Sun Peter Johnston

Bernard Gibson Malik Amer Nathalie Tisserand Syed Assad Milan Grcic

# **Apologies**

Shaun Press

## **Minutes of Previous Annual General Meeting**

No business arising from previous AGM. Minutes from 2019 AGM accepted.

Proposed: P.Johnston
Seconded: S. Louie

### **Reports**

#### **President's Report**

A successful year overall. The covid lockdown affected the calendar, but two tournaments were completed in addition to the present Club championship. There are many new members— mainly younger, although still very few female members.

The club acknowledges and thanks Shaun Press for his assistance with DOP activities while Roy was away in 2019.

Arrangements for the club's equipment have reverted to the previous process whereby a few club members transport the equipment on a weekly basis to and from their homes.

The club thanks the Hellenic club for their support and thanks the several club members who assist with the weekly setting up (J. Rosic, B. Gibson).

The room provided by the Hellenic club has proven to be somewhat noisy and of reduced lighting.

There is a specific initiative to examine other possible locations for the club's weekly activities. These locations could provide an alternative when the Hellenic club has no room available for the Canberra Chess Club.

Acknowledgement of the work of the present Committee members is made.

A refresh of club equipment was carried out, with the gratefully accepted assistance of club member David Turnbull.

President's report accepted.

Proposed: N. Tisserand

Seconded: D. Turnbull

#### **Treasurer's Report**

The treasurer provided an Income and Expenditure Balance sheet.

The club's finances are breaking even.

The membership fee is set at \$20 per year.

The current year's membership fee covers two years 2020 and 2021.

Treasurers report accepted.

Proposed:D. Turnbull S. Louie

Seconded:

#### **Election of Office Bearers for 2020/21**

All Committee positions were declared open, and nominations were called.

President \* The current president resigned his position. Nominations:

Alana Chibnall Alana declined

Position of president is vacant.

Vice President Nominations:

Peter Johnston Peter declined

Position of vice president is vacant.

Treasurer \* The current treasurer resigned his position. Marco Sun nominated:

Proposed: D. Turnbull Seconded: P. Johnston

Marco Sun declared Treasurer

Secretary \* Peter Johnston nominated

Proposed: V. Braguine Seconded: N. Tisserand

Peter Johnston declared Secretary

Committee Member

Simon Louie nominated
Proposed: B. Gibson R. Teymant Seconded:

Simon Louie declared Committee member

Committee Member Committee member David Turnbull resigned his position.

Nathalie Tisserand nominated

Proposed: C. Cunningham Seconded: S. Louie

Nathalie Tisserand declared Committee member

(\*) = signatories to Club bank account.

# Non - Elected positions

Director of Play Alana Chibnall generously indicated that she could be able to assist with DOP duties in 2021.

Simon Louie and Alana Chibnall indicated that they would be able to assist with transporting  $\,$ Equipment

equipment.

Syed Assad has kindly offered to take on the Web master tasks.

### **Other Business**

David Turnbull made a statement expressing gratitude to the outgoing president Roy Teymant. This statement was supported throughout the room.

Victor Braguine made a statement to thank the Committee for their work.

Victor also made a suggestion to shorten the standard time per play for the long-format club games. A vote was put to the meeting, and the suggestion was not carried. It was decided however that the Committee could revisit the issue, and possibly run one or more tournaments at shorter time limits/

#### Close.

The meeting closed at 7:25pm.